Health Foundation selects sixth class of Health Leadership Fellows

Forty western and central New York skilled professionals from health-related and safety-net organizations have been awarded Health Leadership Fellowships for 2015.

Now in its sixth cohort, the goal of the Health Leadership Fellows program is to produce a network of diverse, highly-skilled leaders that will learn to lead collaboratively from both within and outside of their organizations and become advocates for improved health care delivery, particularly for vulnerable older adults and children impacted by poverty.

“Through the Health Leadership Fellows program, we can bring leaders from all facets of the health care and human services community together to learn collaboratively, share best practices and develop new and innovative ways to improve the health of the people living in our region,” Foundation President Ann F. Monroe said.

The 18-month program includes sessions on personal leadership, results-based leadership, leading change and communicating as a leader. In addition to four residential sessions spanning two to three days each, fellows will meet monthly and develop a collaborative inter-organizational project in small teams. Each fellow will also receive executive coaching and access to the Fellows’ website and learning materials.

The 2015-2017 Western and Central New York fellows are:

Paul Allen, director of information systems, Mid-Erie Counseling and Treatment Services
Amy Bamrick, director of clinical services, Buffalo Hearing and Speech Center
Chima Chionuma, medical director, Syracuse Community Health Center
Brian Coleman, network coordinator, Oswego County Opportunities
Christopher Curry, associate director, Catholic Charities of Onondaga County
Gary Damon, Jr., deputy commissioner of youth services, Erie Department of Social Services
Kelly Dryja, assistant director for child and family services, Wyoming County Department of Mental Health
Melinda DuBois, regional director of patient services, Planned Parenthood of Western and Central New York
Hope Fisher, attending physician for the emergency room, Sisters Hospital
Kenneth Genewick, director, Niagara County Office for the Aging
Pei Grant, director of research, The Center for Hospice and Palliative Care
Jiancheng Huang, director of public health, Oswego County Health Department
Andrea John, diabetes program supervisor, Seneca Nation Health System
Christine Kemp, manager of programs and policy analysis, P2 Collaborative of WNY
Rachel Leidenerfrost, director of strategic communications, Meals on Wheels
Leonard Liguori, executive director, Directions in Independent Living
Megan MacDavey, program officer, Peter and Elizabeth C. Tower Foundation
Christopher Marcello, budget and housing coordinator, NYS Office of Mental Health
Lisa GreenMills, program coordinator for Syracuse Healthy Start, Onondaga County Health Department
Antara Mitra, program director, REACH CNY, Inc.
Tak Nobumoto, senior director or project management, Mt. St. Mary’s Hospital
Kim Osborne, vice president of operations, Family Health Network of Central New York
Tamara Owen, president and CEO, Olmstead Center for Sight
Kimberly Palermo, director of habitation services, Community Services for the Developmentally Disabled, Inc.
Paul Petit, public health director, Genesee and Orleans Counties
Brian Pilarski, executive director, Seneca-Babcock Community Association
Lynn Pullano, executive director, child care resource network
Debra Ritter, assistant director of social work –behavioral health, Erie County Medical Center
Bart Rodrigues, senior vice president and chief mission officer, Catholic Health System
Ann Ryan, executive director, Read to Succeed Buffalo
Sandra Schwartz, director of out-patient and community based services, The Centers at St.
Bonnie Slocum, executive director, Madison County Rural Health Network Council, Inc.
Chandra Smith, director of day care services, The Salvation Army, Syracuse
Shajuana Smith, diabetes program director, Jericho Road Community Health Center
Jessica Soule, program coordinator, Cayuga Community Health Network
Christine Steinman-Reale, director or patient services, St. Camillus Home Care Agency
Kelly Whitman, program director, Lakeshore Behavioral Health
Robyn Wiktorski-Reynolds, advocate program coordinator, Crisis Services
Ann Marie Zimmerman, medical director, Southern Tier Community Health Center

Members of the 2015 class join 214 other Health Leadership Fellows who have participated in the program since it began in 2005. The Fellows were selected through an application process by a selection committee comprised of Health Foundation board members and other local professionals in leadership and health care. Selection criteria include leadership ability, the support of the nominee’s organization and the potential benefit of the program to the applicant’s organization and community. As graduates of the Health Leadership Fellows program, they continue their collaborative work as members of the Fellows Action Network.